We value your privacy

We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience, serve personalized content, and analyze our traffic. By clicking "Accept All" you accept this and consent that we share this information with third parties and that your data may be processed in the USA. For more information, please read our .

You can adjust your preferences at any time. If you deny, we will use only the essential cookies and unfortunately, you will not receive any personalized content. To deny, .

  • Home
  • News
  • The ETIAS Entry System for Europe Will Be Implemented in 2025

US Citizens Will Have to Apply for the Visa Waiver ETIAS for Visiting Europe 🇪🇺 🛂

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), which was initially scheduled to launch in 2023, was postponed and then to launch at the start of 2024... but the date has been updated once more and is expected to start in 2025. It means US and other non-EU citizens will have to apply for and pay 7 euros (around $7.50 USD) for the visa waiver entry system. 

Published by


The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) was initially scheduled to launch this year (2023), in efforts to strengthen borders around the European Union's (EU) Schengen Zone, making it an extra step that Non-EU nationals, including US and Canadian citizens, would have to take to enter countries a part of the Schengen agreement. However, the requirement for an ETIAS visa waiver was postponed to 2024, and now to 2025. As we are approaching the new year, the EU still plans to have January 1st as the launch. There is still the question of whether the new rules will truly go into effect/be implemented on this date though. Read more about what's expected to come.

What is the ETIAS?

European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS), is a new entry visa waiver program that is expected to strengthen security in the EU. Currently, the US offers a similar program called the ESTA to EU, UK, and other close allied nationals to enter the country. The ETIAS will cost roughly 7 euros (≈$7.50 USD) and will be valid for three years or until a passport expires—meaning there is no need to reapply after the first visit.

What's Required for the ETIAS?

Travelers to the European Union will be required to fill in a form with basic information about their upcoming stay, as well as disclosing any past criminal convictions. The rules for the amount of time spent in the EU will remain exactly the same as they are now, at an allowance of 90 days in the EU for every 180 days for US passport-holding tourists. The cost as mentioned above will be 7 euros (≈$7.50 USD), and this will only be required for travelers who are between 18 to 70 years old. Also, family members of EU citizens and non-EU citizens have the right to freely move around the EU, such as EU residents.

What Countries Will Require This?

European Union countries and territories:

  • Andorra

  • Austria

  • Belgium

  • Czech Republic

  • Denmark

  • Estonia

  • Finland

  • France

  • Germany

  • Greece

  • Hungary

  • Iceland

  • Italy

  • Latvia

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Luxembourg

  • Malta

  • Monaco

  • The Netherlands

  • Norway

  • Poland

  • Portugal

  • San Marino

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Switzerland

  • Vatican City

When Will the ETIAS System Come into Effect?

We will update the information here once a launch date is publicly announced.

Report a legal concern