There's a lot of information floating around regarding COVID-19 and how the United States is managing the ongoing pandemic. Some rules and restrictions have been put into effect but differ from state to state (which can become quite confusing), that’s why we’ve put everything in one place here for you. Below you will find a list of the current states undergoing regulations and what those rules are — of course, all subject to change.
States and Territories With Implemented Restrictions:
If you enter Alaska, you must be tested for the virus within 72 hours of your departure and upload your negative test results HERE. In addition, you must also submit a Self Isolation Plan, which you can find HERE. The state is also asking that visitors take an additional COVID-19 test within 14 days of arrival, which can be purchased for $250.
California doesn't have statewide restrictions, however, there are several local orders that remain in effect, and if you are traveling to one of these areas you need to follow the restrictions. If you are traveling to San Francisco there is a 10-day quarantine for travelers coming from outside the nine-county Bay Area region; if you travel to Santa Clara County from more than 150 miles away, you must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival; and if you travel to LA county from out-of-state, you are required to fill out an online form HERE. If you don't submit this form, you face a $500 fine.
Like California, Colorado also doesn't have statewide restrictions, however, Pitkin County — which is home to many popular ski resort cities such as Aspen and Snowmass — requires travelers who intend to stay more than one night to submit a travel affidavit HERE and a negative COVID-19 test.
If you enter Connecticut from any state other than New York, New Jersey, or Rhode Island, you must fill out a health form found HERE and quarantine for ten days. Travelers can opt-out of quarantine by providing a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of entering Connecticut.
Thanks to Hawaii's Pre-Travel Testing Program visitors can now opt-out of the quarantine period by submitting a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of their arrival. You can find more detailed information HERE.
Illinois doesn’t have statewide travel restrictions, but Chicago has an Emergency Travel Order in place that applies to anyone entering or returning to the city from states identified as "Orange" must obtain a negative COVID-19 test result no more than 72 hours prior to arrival in Chicago or quarantine for a 10-day period and anyone traveling from a "Red" state must quarantine for a 10-day period or the duration of their time in Chicago, whichever is shorter.
The state of Kansas is implementing a mandatory self-quarantine for fourteen days upon arrival for individuals who have been on a cruise ship or a river cruise on or after March 15., or individuals who have attended an event with 500 or more people. You can find more detailed information HERE.
Visitors entering Maine must self-quarantine for ten days upon entry, or sign a form stating that they've tested negative for the virus within 72 hours before arriving. If you're already a resident of Maine and are returning home, you must also undergo the same procedure unless you are entering from New Hampshire and Vermont. You can find more detailed information HERE.
Visitors entering Maryland are required to provide a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of their arrival or to test immediately upon arrival and self-quarantine pending the results.
If you are entering Massachusetts, you must fill out a travel form found HERE, self-quarantine for ten days upon entry, or submit a negative COVID-19 test. Exceptions to this rule include individuals who are commuting from Hawaii.
11. New Hampshire
Individuals who are visiting New Hampshire and coming from states outside of New England are requested to self-quarantine for ten days upon arrival. You can “test-out” if you are asymptomatic and obtain a negative PCR test on or after day seven of quarantining to end their isolation early or have been vaccinated. You can find more detailed information HERE.
12. New Jersey
New Jersey is requesting that visitors from any area that isn't New York, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, or Delaware self-quarantine for ten days upon entry. Those who take a viral COVID-19 test prior to arrival in New Jersey and receive negative results should still quarantine for a full seven days. You can find an online survey HERE.
13. New Mexico
Individuals who are entering New Mexico are required to self-quarantine for fourteen days upon arrival. You can find more detailed information HERE.
14. New York
Visitors entering and residents returning to New York are required to self-quarantine for ten days upon arrival. Travelers from states that are contiguous with New York (Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont) are exempt. Travelers can “test out” with proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken within the 72-hour window prior to their arrival. They must then quarantine for three days upon arrival in New York and then test again on day four. If the results of both these tests are negative, the traveler may then exit quarantine early. You can find more detailed information HERE.
Travelers from high-risk areas and states with an infection rate of 15% or above are advised to self-quarantine for fourteen days upon arrival to Ohio. You can find more detailed information HERE.
Oregon, in addition to California and Washington, has issued a travel advisory, which includes a recommendation that out-of-state travelers and returning residents should quarantine themselves for 14 days after arrival in the state.
Individuals entering or returning to Pennsylvania are requested to self-quarantine for ten days upon arrival, or present a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours prior to entry. You can find more detailed information HERE.
18. Rhode Island
Travelers from high-risk areas and states with an infection rate of 5% or above must self-quarantine for fourteen days upon arrival to Rhode Island. If you receive a negative coronavirus test within 72 hours, you are exempt from the isolation. You can find more detailed information HERE.
If you are entering Vermont you must self-quarantine for fourteen days upon entry or seven days if you submit a negative coronavirus test. You can find more detailed information HERE.
20. Washington DC
Individuals who are visiting Washington D.C. from high-risk areas are required to provide negative Covid test results taken less than 72 hours prior to entering. Those visiting for more than three days will need to test again, within three to five days after their arrival. Visitors from Maryland and Virginia are exempt. You can find more detailed information HERE.
States Without Current State-Wide Restrictions:
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia